Mike Portnoy


Mike Portnoy was born April 20, 1967, and is an American musician and songwriter who is the current drummer for The Neal Morse Band and supergroups Flying Colors, Transatlantic, The Winery Dogs, Metal Allegiance and Sons of Apollo.

Portnoy is primarily known as the former drummer, backing vocalist, and a co-founder of the progressive metal band Dream Theater. In September 2010, Portnoy announced his departure from Dream Theater after 25 years, with Mike Mangini taking his place as drummer of the band.

Since his departure, Portnoy has formed a variety of new bands and projects, including Adrenaline Mob, Flying Colors, The Winery Dogs, Sons of Apollo, Metal Allegiance, and BPMD.


Progressive metal, heavy metal, hard rock



Artist Website Link:


with Dream Theater
When Dream and Day Unite (1989)
Images and Words (1992)
Awake (1994)
A Change of Seasons (1995)
Falling into Infinity (1997)
Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory (1999)
Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (2002)
Train of Thought (2003)
Octavarium (2005)
Systematic Chaos (2007)
Black Clouds & Silver Linings (2009)

with Flying Colors
Flying Colors (2012)
Second Nature (2014)
Third Degree (2019)

with Sons of Apollo
Psychotic Symphony (2017)
MMXX (2020)

with The Neal Morse Band
The Similitude of a Dream (2016)
The Great Adventure (2019)

with Transatlantic
SMPT:e (2000)
Bridge Across Forever (2001)
The Whirlwind (2009)
Kaleidoscope (2014)
#TA5 (2020)

with The Winery Dogs
The Winery Dogs (2013)
Hot Streak (2015)
Dog Years (2017)

with Metal Allegiance
Metal Allegiance (2015)
Fallen Heroes (2016)
Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty (2018)

with BPMD
American Made (2020)


Dream Theater | A Nightmare To Remember (Mike Portnoy drums highlight)


Add Comment